Skip to content

Day 1- Chicago to Kansas City

October 15, 2010

The beginning of my trip,

The drive itself was unexciting. Western Illinois has little to offer from a landscape standpoint. Although, I always enjoy seeing 100’s of wind turbines as you drive down I-88 (or I-55),

As I crossed over the Mighty Mississippi (how many of you remember the different ways you were taught to correctly spell mississippi?)  I dreaded the next 5 hours, but was surprised. Iowa may not be scenic, but at least its hilly, which beats most of Illinois. AND Iowa hosts the mecca for truck drivers, The Worlds Largest Truck Stop. Most of Iowa smelled like cow manure and eventually the smell disappeared. But I could only assume the smell still remained and the G-protein coupled receptors in my nose had desensitized to the odors coming off the farmlands.

There is one story worth talking about today. As I stopped for gas in the middle of nowhere Iowa, the BP stood alone. I wanted to keep driving, but not knowing where the next urinal would be, I had to stop. I urinated, filled up, and pulled off to the side to eat the lunch I packed: turkey, salami, colby jack cheese w/ crackers and Acai juice (thanks Neel). The wind was blowing at 18mph and the sun was shining bright. I quickly ate, laid down in the grass to do some back stretches and got back in my car to drive away. As I slowly pulled towards the exit, ACHOOOO! A sneeze and snot landed on my hand, so I routinely wiped it up with a tissue. I was reluctant to sit in my car with a dirty tissue for the next 4 hours considering there was a garbage can just meters away. As I walked towards the garbage, I noticed a bright blue object on the ground. As I approached, I could not believe what I was looking at….

 

….My credit card! After I swiped it at the pump, I thought I had placed it in my pocket securely. AMAZING! If I believed in a higher power, I’d chalk it up to that. But when I break it down, its just a bunch of coincidences: A sneeze caused by the dust blowing in the wind, snot from the recent cold I’m finally getting over, and my need to throw out the tissue due to my slight case of OCD. I am very grateful for this coincidence; starting the trip by losing my credit card could not have been a good omen. But alas! I’ve got my card, I met an extended family member in Overland, KS as we watched a heated football rivalry between Kansas St and Kansas, and I finished the night with a fire in his back yard.

Tomorrow I finish learning about King Tut and head towards the mountains. Good night everyone!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 5:49 AM

    Day 1 — WOW — thank goodness you retained your card. Where’s the audio book report…we are talking some hours so I’m assuming some listening took place, or does that only happen at the end of the book?

    • October 15, 2010 2:20 PM

      You’ll get a book report tonight. I’m just at the point where they’re digging out the tomb. Its exciting to listen to.

Trackbacks

  1. Tom’s Travels Finale- Summary and Thank You’s « LETUBEU

What's on your mind?

