Skip to content

TOM TRAVELS – Wildlife in Cabo San Lucas

February 22, 2011

A few weeks after the Thundersnow and Snowzilla of 2011 I was fortunate to escape the clutches of single digit weather and head south of the Tropic of Cancer to the sunny skies of Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. Prior to leaving I had done research to identify what type of wildlife I could expect to see and was excited to know I’d have a chance at seeing gray whales! I limited my expectations while assuming the whales were hard to find without paying for an expensive boat ride. I was wrong. While my trip across the Southwest US provided me with an endless photo album of the American landscape and few pictures of wildlife, this adventure to Cabo San Lucas was the opposite.

Below are pictures & videos of wildlife I encountered, accompanied with some fun facts. Click on the pictures to enlarge. Enjoy!

While watching NatGeo Channel I’ve seen videos of birds diving into the water to catch fish, now, I have my own video (of lesser quality though):

Let’s continue on the avian theme, I had a companion at breakfast:

Cabo San Lucas had turkey vultures scanning the beaches. In America the turkey vulture receives federal protection under the Migratory Bird Treaty Act of 1918:

Scavenging for scraps

What goes around comes around. Such a tiny skull:

What a tiny brain

More dead creatures:

I made it onto the open seas during a fishing excursion where I was part of a 2-man team catching a 70lbs Yellowfin Tuna. The largest yellowfin tuna ever caught occurred in the same region. A 405.2 lbs tuna was caught off the Baja California Peninsula:

I was hoping to reel it in myself, until a blister tore open. The word “blister” entered English in the 14th century. It came from the Middle Dutch “bluyster”, and was a modification of the Old French “blostre” which meant a leprous nodule — a rise in the skin due to leprosy:

I saw plenty of dolphins, but this was the best picture I could get:

And saw 1 dead shark:

He's dead, but still scary to look at

Tune in Wednesday as I finish this post which will include a video of a fish gut tug-o-war match between pelicans and my distant view of gray whales splashing around while teaching their young to swim. Please take the poll below, thank you!

What's on your mind?

