Skip to content

Its official, Chicago loves PIZZA!

April 6, 2011

Science nature efficient research

Survey results are in: pizza is king, don’t save your sandwich for later, and Ewbews are frugal eaters. Many thanks to the Ewbews (pronounced ubu or oo-boo, meaning friends & followers of letUBeU) from Chicago and beyond who participated in this science experiment. Let’s get to the point, here are my findings on the survey called: Leftovers – To eat or not to eat.

If you want to remind yourself of the survey questions click: Leftovers Survey.

TOM’S FINDINGS:

60% of  Ewbews don’t take ‘quality of leftovers’ into account when ordering food. Only 1 Ewbew said they ALWAYS think of ‘quality of leftovers.’ That’s me! My motivation for the survey was to find out if I was a weirdo, or with the majority. Weirdo it is.

I’m happy to report that Ewbews are frugal eaters. Almost 80% of Ewbews order Delivery or Take Out only 1-2 times per week. In addition, we choose Take Out over Delivery (below).

science nature efficiency smile

Winners: 83% of Ewbews are VERY LIKELY to eat pizza leftovers (green arrow above). Losers: Leftovers from a Sub/Sandwich Shop are UNLIKELY to be eaten 55.5% of the time, and only 5.6% for VERY LIKELY (red arrow above).

Ewbews have schizophrenic feelings when it comes to American leftovers (chicken, burgers, etc.) and Indian. Similar to Indian, about 30% are VERY UNLIKELY to eat American leftovers, yet 24% are VERY LIKELY to eat them. 33% have never tried Indian. I highly recommend you venture into this unexplored land and start with Sabri Nahari at 2502 W. Devon Ave in Chicago’s north neighborhoods.

Ewbews over-purchase mostly at Pizza and Asian restaurants (Thai & Chinese) leaving themselves with lunch for tomorrow!

TOM’S CONCLUSIONS:

1. There is no secret here, Pizza is king, in Chicago and beyond. Whether its fresh or 2-days old, no Pizza gets left behind. We are fueled by carbs, dairy, and a night shade vegetable (bread, cheese, tomato sauce). Lucky for me, I live in Chicago, home of the awesome Bacino’s Pizza.

2. Thai is the top Asian food. I’m happy to see Thai where it is at; for those who haven’t experienced the splendor of Thai food, this is what I love about it:

  • its simplicity
  • it’s healthier than pizza
  • it inundates my olfactory system with a pleasant aroma. See what I mean with this video:

I remember visiting my first restaurant back in college in downtown Naperville, IL. Thai and myself made love at first sight. Presently, I recommend the best Thai experience in Chicago: Cozy Noodles & Rice at 3456 N. Sheffield Ave (1 block from Wrigley Field). Nowhere else will you find a toy collection on the walls.

3. Sub/Sandwich leftovers end up in the trash, American leftovers are not far behind. No surprise here, who wants soggy bread or a tough burger?

4. Ewbews are happy and spend money on food efficiently. In addition to not paying the delivery charge & tip, there is the benefit of “exercise” involved with ordering Take Out. I imagine this “exercise” will elevate levels of endorphins, providing a pseudo-runner’s high.

So, that’s my first report for Tom Surveys. I hope you learned something new about yourself, Ewbews, or science in your everyday life. I’m out, about to go warm up some leftover pizza. Thank you for reading and be yourself or be no one, let you be you.

Disclaimer: Its actually not ‘official’ b/c my sample size was too small. Data what not checked for statistical significance either. This was for fun. 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2011 7:21 PM

    hahaha I love the video! and now I miss pizza even more, thanks…we are definitely going to get some when I get back!

  2. AMR permalink
    April 10, 2011 12:03 AM

    1) I think your info-graphics are very effective. Good job with those.
    2) I was very surprised to see the large percentage of N/A’s for Indian food. I would not have expected that. Those folks are definitely missing out.
    3) Because of all of those N/A’s, how did you accurately adjust your analysis of Indian leftovers to the other categories? For example, of the 70% who qualify for answering about Indian food because they have actually had it, how many of them answered “Very Likely,” and does that adjusted ratio then get Indian food any closer to the Pizza ratio of (total survey respondents) :: (total respondents answering “Very Likely”). Is my question at all comprehensible?

    • April 12, 2011 1:42 PM

      AMR, thanks for the comment, and good question. The percentages of “very unlikely” and “very likely” for Indian food increase, but the ratio is still the same with or without the N/A’s. Some like it, some don’t.

What's on your mind?

