Skip to content

MLaaSP – Cool Science at the Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, & Lincoln Park Zoo

September 1, 2011

My Life as a Science Promoter August 31, 2011

Today’s world population as we near #7Billion is 6,959,172,818

cool science chicago

Today I spent 4 hours at the Field Museum, 2 at Adler Planetarium, and 1 at Lincoln Park Zoo. I’ll start this post with a video (I’ll be doing more of these in the future) and then below, I’ll share cool science facts that I learned:

Something I learned today from one of the volunteers at the Field Museum, Beth, the tiles in the main lobby came from a quarry in Missouri filled with fossils. So, if you look closely, as you walk around Sue, you’ll see plenty of fossils in the ground. Such as Bryozoan Archimedes which lived around 324 million years ago:

Cool science chicago

I learned cool science at Adler Planetarium. Did you know the goals of the Apollo mission to the moon?

cool science chicago

Do you know how many years the moon has been orbiting earth?

cool science chicago

By the time I started heading to the Lincoln Park Zoo, it was nearing closing time and my deodorant was losing its effect; so, my visit to one of the 3 free zoos in the U.S. was quick. The one fun fact that I walked away with is that zebras are not black with white stripes, they are white with black stripes. What a beautiful animal!:

cool science chicago

That was my day in a nutshell. I’ll leave you with a picture proving that I was at all 3 science & nature educational institutions today, notice my Member stickers:

cool science chicago

No comments yet

What's on your mind?

