Skip to content

My Life as a Science Promoter – Shaking Hands at The Field Museum

November 4, 2011

My Life as a Science Promoter on November 3, 2011

The world population today is 7,000,817,499

Restoring Earth Conservation at the Field Museum

  • Note: I’ll provide a more in depth post of the exhibit in about a week

November 3, 2011 provided me the wonderful opportunity to become a member of the media. As a science blogger in Chicago–and training conservationist–The Field Museum extended an invitation to attend their media preview for a new exhibit. I accepted. My other options for activity today did not have the capacity to stimulate the neurons in my brain as much as The Field Museum’s Abbott Hall of Conservation Restoring Earth. So I put on my greenest shirt, called my photographer friend, Erika Hildegaard Johnson, and was ready to shake some hands.

I was fortunate to shake hands with President John McCarter, whom I called ‘dude’. It’s cool though, I said it in the context of excitement, “Dude. This exhibit is awesome!” He didn’t seem to mind, but ‘dude’ definitely convinced him that I was in my early 20’s. Wrong dude! 30. Yes, I dress, talk, and sometimes act like a 22 year old, but I’m as wise as a 30 year old. Thanks for your time John. Nancy O’Shea and Emily Waldren, from Public Relations, are always 2 pleasant people to shake hands with. I thought I’d be wearing the greenest outfit, wrong dude! Emily wins that award; I’ll try harder next time there’s an opening to a ~$5,000,000 exhibit that took 3 years to plan, design, and build.

Conservation in Chicago

Kara Rogers, PhD. shook my hand. She is Senior Editor of Biomedical Sciences for Encyclopedia Britannica (EB). I was very appreciative of her colleague John Rafferty, editor for Earth Sciences at EB, for sharing his wisdom and experience with me as I try to become a science communicator in a competitive field. Kara also writes at TalkingScience.org and John at Advocacy For Animals.

Conservation Scientist Dr Josh DrewThe all-star of the show is Dr. Josh Drew. If you have a chance to meet him, you’ll shake hands with the future face of Conservation Science. He is eloquent, inspirational and has a magnificent understanding of our planet, especially the human spirit–our passion to work together to make the world a safer place. See Dr. Drew in this short video about the exhibit, part of an article written by future all-star journalists Megan Taylor Morrison and Rosa Lin from Northwestern(the last hands I shook): Jump from a virtual helicopter into some of the world’s most amazing natural places.

Thanks for reading, stay happy, and letUbeU!

Find Dr. Drew on twitter at @labroides and Megan @MeganTMorrison.

Thank you to Paul Kalkbrenner for providing the soundtrack while I wrote this post.

The pictures were graciously provided in the press kit from the Field Museum

No comments yet

What's on your mind?

