Skip to content

Science Museum Oklahoma – optical illlusions, crime scenes, & Brittany

December 14, 2011

Please note: I took 482 pictures today, and haven’t thoroughly viewed them all. At first glance, these are some of the best and most memorable for me. Thanks to everyone who helped with private tours, free pens, and a private photo-shoot of Science Live. In a week or two when I’m done traveling I’ll write more blog posts with more pictures from Science Museum Oklahoma.

Tom Travels on Tuesday December 13, 2011

The world population today is 7,009,321,658

tom travels to science museum oklahoma

Science Museum Oklahoma is by far the most colorful museum I’ve seen. And their Mind Games exhibit rivals my two favorite exhibits in Chicago: Evolving Planet from The Field Museum, and Science Storms at the Museum of Science & Industry. Here’s a taste of Mind Games (click the image, the illusion will be more apparent when it’s larger):

Stare at this image, see the black spots which are not actually there?

science museum oklahoma

Stare at the center of one spiral, and the others seem to spin:

tom travels

There is a crime scene and visitors get to play Detective:

tom travels

Blood splatter analysis (does it remind you of Dexter?):

tom travels

Science Museum Oklahoma teaches you about fingerprinting:

Tom Travels

There is a wall of motivational quotes. My favorite, words to live by:

Tom Travels

Science Live was a fun, interactive show. The children were loving it:

Tom Travels

And they learned about electricity, with a hands-on demonstration:

playing with electricity during tom travels

There were mirrors to play with:

Tom Travels

I found a woman wearing these awesome shoes

Overall, the entire staff was very pleasant, knowledgable and excited about SCIENCE! Special thanks to Brittany for allowing me to photograph her. And she gave me her pen

Tom Travels

In a future post, I’ll explain the magnificence of their logo. You have no idea how much science is involved in it:

Tom Travels

I’ll wrap up this post with 2 pieces of advice:

1. Gain knowledge and keep growing

Tom Travels

The best way to do this:

Tom Travels

Thank you for reading, stay happy, letUbeU.

If you missed my post from yesterday, I reported from Joplin, Missouri where the recovery still has a loooong way to go: Update from Joplin, Missouri

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    December 14, 2011 12:00 PM

    i totally dig those shoes!

  2. Rebecca permalink
    December 14, 2011 8:05 PM

    I work at Science Museum Oklahoma and am so pleased to hear that you had such a great time. I hope you soon visit again!

    • December 15, 2011 1:55 AM

      Oklahoma put a smile on my face. SMO especially. Tom will return! 🙂

  3. December 15, 2011 11:53 AM

    Great post! Brittany is one of my favorite people there!

    • December 15, 2011 12:38 PM

      Thank you. 🙂 Everyone at the museum was very nice to me and accommodating. See you in the future!

What's on your mind?

