Skip to content

Occupy The Field Museum

December 28, 2011
Restoring Earth

Photos by Erika Hildegard Johnson

The Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago opened its newest exhibit on November 4, 2011: The Abbott Hall of Conservation Restoring Earth. The exhibit focuses on active science and tells a story of your past and why we should focus on protecting your future.

Abbott Hall of Conservation Restoring Earth

To share this story with as many people as possible, I will occupy Restoring Earth for 24 hours (3 days x 8 hours, 9am-5pm Jan. 6, 8, 10). My time will be spent reading, processing information, and learning about the health of your planet.

Abbott Hall of Conservation

Then I will share the information with

Restoring Earth at The Field Museum

The knowledge provided in Restoring Earth highlights the work of scientists who have traveled to the far corners of the world collecting data about the health of Planet Earth. U should know the data suggest that your environment is changing, like an aging body. Except Earth doesn’t get to retire.

Abbott Hall of Conservation Restoring Earth

Retiring Field Museum President John McCarter outside the front doors of Restoring Earth

Instead, Earth keeps giving birth to new faces, of many shapes, colors, and varieties.

Science in Chicago

And each face represents only 1 piece of a much larger image, a larger organism.

Finding happiness with science

It’s the duty of us–humans–to work together, as one organism, and take care of our aging Earth. The more of U who participate, the larger the image becomes, and the more beautiful the image is.

Abbott Hall of Conservation Restoring Earth

My experience in Restoring Earth will focus on looking up & forward, to protecting the future U will live in. Please celebrate with me as I share the story of Field Museum scientists working hard to make Earth a healthier place to live. Follow along on January 6, 8, & 10 when I Tweet & Facebook live from the exhibit while sharing information about coral reefs in Fiji, rain forests in South America, and the island environments of Madagascar, the Florida Keys, and the Philippines. U will learn how U can take steps to save us from the effects of a changing Earth. As scientists are fond of saying,

You can’t save what you don’t know.

And when they kick me out at 5pm, you’ll know more when I come home and post on this blog. Restoring Earth presents the data, I’ll relay the message, and then it’s up to U to decide: How can I contribute to protecting my

Abbott Hall of Conservation

Thank you to Erika for the pictures. You can find out more about the wonderful, nature-loving Erika at her website: ErikaJohnsonPhoto. Thank U for reading, be kind to your environment, and letUbeU!

Editor: Chrissie Chow, PhD candidate, ruler of Rho GEFs

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2011 9:52 PM

    I’ll come find you on the 8th, Tom.

    • December 28, 2011 12:21 AM

      Excellent. See you then. 🙂

      • December 28, 2011 12:47 PM

        Argh, I’m a dork! I was looking at the wrong month on my calendar. I thought I could come and find you on a Thursday, but clearly the 8th is not a Thursday. In that case, I will try to come and find you, but can no longer guarantee it. 🙂 Have fun!

What's on your mind?

