Skip to content

Day 1 of Occupy The Field Museum’s Restoring Earth (#OTFM)

January 7, 2012

The world population at this moment is 7,014,580,613

Note: This has nothing to do with Occupy Wall Street. This is a volunteer project to raise awareness of the negative environmental consequences of human actions & the scientists working to restore our beautiful Planet.

August 19, 2008, I deserted a PhD program at the University of IL-Chicago. 1,236 days later, I found myself in The Field Museum lobby. Anxious about my future as a Promoter of Science & Happiness, I asked Sue The T-Rex and some elephants to keep me company as I spend an entire workday in the newest permanent exhibit, The Abbott Hall of Conservation Restoring Earth. They declined and decided to stay in the main lobby.

Science Promoter Chicago

There I was, the 1st visitor of the day, wondering which piece of information to share with the world? You’ll probably find it interesting that scarlet macaws are loyal to one mate for their entire lives. Sadly, deforestation is destroying the homes of these colorful birds of nature. Feelings of melancholy rushed through my neurons as I was reminded of my visit to Joplin, Missouri recently, where an EF-5 tornado destroyed half the city. How many couples lost their home as a result of nature? Is this karma?

Conservation Science

Scientists’, Presidents’ and South American locals’ words of wisdom about the importance of our relationship with nature are scattered throughout Restoring Earth. Here are 2 compelling quotes. I’ll leave it anonymous; you’ll have to visit The Field Museum to see who said what:

We all inhabit this small planet. We all breathe the same air. We all cherish our children’s future. And we are all mortal.

If we don’t protect [our natural resources], the children of our children won’t have the same quality of life that we have. We are the first line of defense.

I spent 4 hours in the Rapid Inventory section of Restoring Earth and learned about the lives of scientists who venture deep into unexplored wilderness. Are you a teenager or college student deciding what direction to take your life? Well, if you become a scientist, your job description might include (right to left) bird watching, fishing, or dropping out of a helicopter…in the Amazon!

Science Promoter Chicago

Learn more about these cool science jobs: Rapid Inventory scientists.

Throughout the day I photographed the word ‘conservation’ every time it appeared. Guess how many times ‘conservation’ appears in The Abbott Hall of Conservation? If your guess is closest you can choose one of these gifts (winner announced on Wednesday): #OTFM Trivia Prizes.

Overall, the day was wonderful! 3 Field Museum employees came to say ‘hi’ to me. The Adler Planetarium’s social media team met me for lunch at The Field Museum’s Corner Bakery (ladies, I’m not posting the picture, it didn’t turn out well). I saw 2 twitterers, @labroides & @KaperDesign, and met Bob, a docent from Fermi Lab. Besides my feet throbbing from standing on recycled carpet & wood for 8 hours, I am excited for Sunday’s exploration of conservation. Join me on Twitter at @letubeu or the hashtag: #OTFM. And/or like the letUbeU Facebook Page. For previous #OTFM posts, here you go: Occupy The Field Museum. I’ll leave you with this quote, and my newly designed tshirt. Anyone recognize the outline of hair on my shirt?

Communicating Science

Thank you for reading, smile, letUbeU!

No comments yet

What's on your mind?

