Skip to content

Laugh, Think, Cry

January 23, 2012

Every once in a while I mismanage my life and life manages to knock me down.  If it occurs too often in a short period of time, locating the motivation to climb back to my feet can be difficult without a helping hand. Sometimes the hand comes in the form of a friend/family/significant other. Other times a quote or a video provide me the assistance to get back on track. Ultimately, I need a simple reminder: it could be worse.

Last week, a very good friend of mine told me he was having a bad day, so I sent him the link to one of my “go-to” videos for inspiration, and it always serves as a reminder that I’M ALIVE! In the video, Jimmy Valvano, a former basketball coach and commentator, gives his acceptance speech for the Arthur Ashe Courage Award as he is dying of cancer. He tells us how he gets through life, and it’s the same before and after he was diagnosed with cancer. If you watch the first 3 minutes of his speech he tells you the power of laughter, thought, and tears. Watch the entire clip and I’m sure you’ll laugh & think, and most of you will cry, at least a tiny tear. Remember, life could be worse. Enjoy the video:

No comments yet

What's on your mind?

